We Love Crochet – Car Seat Blanket

Whilst my Grandma taught me to knit when I was 8 I have, in fact, only started knitting properly in the last 2 years. I took it up again properly when I was eight months pregnant with little man, nesting perhaps?

I suffer really badly with stress and I find that crafts are a great way of switching the old brain off and having something positive to focus on.

Crocheting is a new skill I’ve recently picked up. For a long time I could only knit a ‘worm’ but have just learnt my first ever stitch, the half-double.

I made this car seat blanket, I got the idea from a beautiful car seat cover I saw from Ruby and Ginger. I tried to emulate this design but it went wrong as I was making it so I modified the design. I have to say I’m really chuffed with how it’s turned out!

Imagecar seat cover 2

I literally just measured the seat and worked out how much I needed to make, I stitch tight so it took a little trial and error to see how much I’d need. Once I’d crocheted the main body I then stitched the smaller side, when finished I stitched the other.  It doesn’t matter how big the sides on, it just depends on ones personal preference.

car seat cover 3

My Dad works at a charity shop and picked up 27 (yes 27!!) balls of 50g yellow wool for £2.50. I have to admit it’s not a colour I would have gone for but it’s been a lot of fun looking for lots of different ways to use this up. I would recommend you to keep your eyes out at your local Charity Shop. For one, the money all goes to a good cause and two it’s a great way to hone your skill before investing in more expensive wool.

If there is something I haven’t mentioned with my pattern please let me know, I’d be happy to  help. If you are new to crochet I would thoroughly recommend ‘The Happy Hooker‘ by Debbie Stoller. There’s loads of info for newbies and it’s easy to read.

One thought on “We Love Crochet – Car Seat Blanket

  1. Pingback: We Love Knitting – Baby Blanket | Tales of a Knackered Mum

Leave a Reply

